Skip to content

Remember Your Dreams – Don’t Just Dream, Do Them

August 19, 2011

I almost forgot that I had a dream.  A dream of my goals and success, about carrying out what I am really good at.  For a moment there I lost my focus, what I had planned to do.  But for the past couple of days I was brought back on track.  I sort of skimmed through this book called “Making Your Dreams Come True, Find Your Passion With America’s Dream Coach” by Marcia Wieder, that sort of gives you advice on how you should carry out your dream using some simple strategies that could help you do that.

I think it is a great book because it is simple and not complicated.  Here is what Marcia instructs us to do:

First “Get clear about what your dream is”

Second “Remove the obstacles, especially the limiting beliefs”

Third “Design the simple steps to make your dream happen”

All quotes from the book on page 5

Now I’ve already done the first step.  I’m very clear on what my dream is, I’ve had it ever since I was a child.  Another thing that she tells us to do is write down the dream and read it out loud to ourselves.  Check, I’ve done that too.  A dream should not be just a fantasy, but a goal brought into reality.  Living out your dream.  I want to make that happen.  I see some really talented artists like me who really hold back and not take their talent to the next level, and I do not want to end up like that.

Instead of just fantasizing about my company, I need to take the first step in registering the company name.  That is the next thing I need to do.  Who feels me on that?  I need to connect with other business people who share similar interests in the arts.  I’ve been doing a lot of writing, especially writing children book manuscripts.  Other writings I am doing are Screenplay Writings for future films I want to direct, Proposals for the films, writing out a Business Plan, etc.  I’ve got to make this happen!

There is no more wish, coulda, woulda’s.  But Walking the Talk is what we dreamers need to do.  So write out a plan, and then read it out loud as if it is happening already, or as if it has already happened.  I have learned that you can speak things into existence in your life, and reading this book is a conformation that I need to do just that.  I need to speak my company into existence, and be specific about it.  Words are powerful.  But not only just speak it but also act it out.  You can have the faith, but without the works it is dead.  Personal Children Illustrations

Part of my company involves illustrating children’s books, doing personal children illustrations for clients, writing children book manuscripts, screenplay writing, and much more in the creative arts and story telling.  This has been lingering in my mind far too long and I need to make some progress and not throw it to the side any longer.

Another sources that inspired me to think back on my dream and carry it out are the movie’s FAME and GIFTED HANDS.  Sounds Silly, but to know that these people made their dreams into reality is darn amazing.  They sort of helped me get back on track.  I believe God has his ways of telling me something, and getting me to open my eyes to what I’ve been missing out on.  He gave me these gifts and wants me to move forward in them.  He is probably just waiting there with all the possible resources ready to be handed to me when I’m ready to use my gifts.  God makes no mistakes, he knows exactly what he is doing.

So get up, get ready, start planning, start speaking, start connecting, starting doing.

Got nothing to lose.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dr. Chuck permalink
    August 29, 2011 5:05 am

    Thank you for sharing your insight, Domonique!

Leave a Reply

