Skip to content

Suffering Writers Block

September 3, 2010

Just started back in writing my script, but having a hard time getting back to where I was in the story.  I started this script about 6 months ago, and put it down to write my children book manuscript which I managed to finish and get published.  But this movie script still lingers in my head, ready to burst out and be finished. 

Why do I have so many stories in my head and can’t manage to get them out?  If I was superwoman and was able to dish out every story at the same time that would put my mind at ease, because I am always anxious to get every story out onto script form. 

I never really considered myself a writer, and I guess every new writer would say that about themselves.  But how else would I be able to get my stories out unless I write it?  The endless stories and movies playing in my mind are actually turning me into a writer.  But I have a hard time sticking with one story, I end up starting another story while the other is left unfinished.  And when I get back to that story, I have a hard time finishing it because it isn’t as fresh as it was when I started.  How can I solve this problem?  Don’t start the other until I finish the one I’ve started?  But the other is running like a movie in my mind while I am writing the first one, and I don’t want to lose what is playing in my mind because it is sooo good!  Maybe I should just write it down and stash it away for later! 

I’m also reading a book called “Making A Good Script Great” by Linda Seger, a great book!  Even Ron Howard used a lot of the methods from this book to make his script greater.  I am trying one of these methods for my first script, which is the story outline which seems very helpful.  Even though I’ve started my script already, I had to step back a moment and think out the story in outline form.  Maybe when I do this, this will help me to finish my first draft faster. 

I guess every writer suffers writers block!  It isn’t fun!  How can this be solved?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

